T.V. Shows

Voltron: Legendary Defender Season 3|Review

DISCLAIMER: SPOILERS FOR VOLTRON SEASON 3, PROCEED WITH CAUTION. 

Also, I’m sorry this review is super long, I can’t help me nerding out over T.V. shows.

So a few days ago, Voltron Season 3 aired on Netflix and I’ve of course already finished it. My sister and I have no self control and since the seasons are always super short and show is incredibly addicting, we finished in 2 days. Though considering some people finished the entire season in a night, this is somewhat better. Overall, Season 3 was significantly better than Season 2 which had left me pretty underwhelmed. Even though Shiro was gone for most of it (I know, it killed me too), there was so much more character development, specifically with Keith and Lance, a new villain was introduced who is far better than Zarkon, and there were tons of Avatar references so it was an all around good season. It didn’t end on a huge cliffhanger like the past two seasons but still has me really excited for Season 4.

Storyline: Obviously, after the fight with Zarkon, who is now on his death bed, things still look bleak when Shiro is now missing. Season 3 picks up some after Shiro is nowhere to be found and it seems like the other Paladins have moved on a little and they’re still liberating other planets. Keith is clearly still struggling with the loss of Shiro and since the threat of Lotor has risen, it’s time to find another Black Paladin and the new leader of Voltron.

I think we all knew that Keith would be chosen as leader which I’m not really on board with. Initially, I wanted Alurra to be leader and in control of the Black Paladin, I mean how cool would it be to have a bad-ass woman of color in command of Voltron? Then I realized how similar Alurra and Shiro are when it comes to leadership. The team would have succeeded with Alurra in charge and it really doesn’t leave much room for development as a team. However, I still didn’t want Keith to be leader, it’s an overused trope to have the brooding, angsty dude to be left in charge. I still love Keith but I really didn’t want to see him as leader. Personally, I would have liked to see Lance become leader. You can clearly tell the poor guy wanted to be leader and I wished it had actually happened. The goofball of the team never seems to get a chance to become leader and it would be breaking that trope by having Lance become leader. Lance is much more strategic and logical (much like Sokka from ATLA), it would be great character development to see him shed that egotistical side to him and really grow into his own. Either way, it doesn’t bother me that much that Keith is leader, but there was definitely a missed opportunity there.

Lotor is introduced along with his elite squad of bad-ass ladies. I’m sure everyone got some ATLA vibes with how reminiscent his team was to Azula’s elite squad. Hopefully, we get to see more of the space ladies because not only are bad-ass, they seem to be really interesting. I was glad to see Lotor actually respect them, unlike Azula who basically used Mai and Ty Lee. Lotor was definitely a mixture of Zuko and Azula but I also got some serious Kuvira: The Great Uniter vibes. The line, “Anyone who stands in our way will be crushed.” That line was taken directly form the Legend of Korra! His plans and mindset is clearly different from Zarkon, but I assume he’s trying to create another Voltron rather than go after the old one like Zarkon. He’s far more patient and calculated, knowing when he’s lost and retreats to create a better plan. He reminds me a of Chase Young from Xialoin Showdown (clearly there’s a lot of references to early 2000s cartoons). I’m also curious about whether or not he’s actually Zarkon and Haggar’s son or not. He’s clearly half Altean and half Galra but when was he actually born? In the episode about the past Voltron team (did this remind anyone of C.HY.K.N. from the show W.I.T.C.H.?), there wasn’t any sign of Honerva being pregnant with Lotor. Speaking of, it was interesting to see how both husband and wife became power hungry together rather than one of them becoming evil. The need for Quintessence was the gateway to the two becoming evil. This remind anyone of Nerissa from W.I.T.C.H.? 

Not my GIF obviously, but I couldn’t help but add this it’s too funny.

Of course the biggest conspiracy theory from Season 3 is that Shiro is a clone named Kuron. I’m not entirely sure on how I feel about this. There’s some proof, Shiro’s return felt too convenient and there’s definitely more at play than what they’re showing. Also, after Shiro escaped, there was mention of Operation Kuron which is where the clone theories originally came from. I’m not 100% sure I agree with this theory because besides the convenient return, Shiro seemed like himself. Someone made a tumblr post saying that Shiro doesn’t know where he belongs in the team since the Black Lion accepted Keith as leader. But since the Black Lion didn’t accept Shiro does that mean that he’s a clone? I’m not sure at this point, so I’m 50/50 on this theory. Then someone mentioned that because the Galra experimented on him, he was a clone from the very beginning which how dare you? But seriously, that would be heartbreaking. I’m kind of hoping Shiro’s not a clone because let’s be real, this poor man has been through too much. Shiro deserves a break, better yet a vacation.

Characters: Keith and Lance definitely had the most development out of all the characters. Last season, Keith discovered his Galra heritage which wasn’t actually brought up at all this season and I would’ve liked to see mentioned at least once. But I do feel like there’s a bit too much of a focus on Keith, why does he seem to be the special snowflake? I would love to know more about Hunk and focus more on Pidge (though I think we might be getting that in S4). One thing I can appreciate is that there was more to Hunk than his love for food and there was more to Lance than just being a flirtatious goofball. I was so happy to see him not flirting with Alurra anymore. It was getting to a point where it was annoying, so it was nice to see them get along and have a sibling like relationship like Katara & Sokka. One of my favorite lines:

Pidge: Maybe somone should suggest to Alurra that flying the lion is different than flying the castle.

Lance: Hey I already told her yelling at her lion wouldn’t work. Didn’t go over well, she yelled at me too!

SIBLINGS. This is a total Katara & Sokka interaction.

Even if Alurra didn’t get to be Black Paladin, it was still awesome to see her be a leg, AKA the Blue Paladin(the pink suits her). You could clearly tell that it fits her so well and it was nice to see her kicking ass rather than staying behind in the castle and commanding (which was still great too). Also, I realized that her grief over the losing Alteans is very similar to Aang’s grief over losing the Air Nomads. I assume they might have drawn inspiration from Avatar.

A lot of people were freaking out about klance this season and how the scene in the bedroom that everyone was screaming about was romantic. I don’t really agree with it. I think all of the klance this season was all platonic and really them just growing as friends. In the first two seasons, their was rivalry between Lance & Keith and now we got to see get along and Lance acting as a right hand man (anyone see this as Hamilton reference?). I was really happy to see Lance mature and begin to accept that Keith was the leader at this point. More of insecurity of his placement on the team was shown. He went to Keith rather than Shiro (who’s far better at reassurance) which goes to show the amount of trust he has in Keith. Let’s be real, Keith didn’t offer great advice, but that’s because the dude doesn’t really know how to comfort people. Hopefully, this comes up again because it seems that people are brushing aside Lance’s insecurity as a member of the team. Either way, I saw their interactions as platonic and growth in their friendship. The two definitely have a connection, the way Lance is Keith’s impulse control was interesting. Though to be completely honest, I don’t think klance is going to be canon, if it is I’ll be happy of course, but at this point I think the writers are headed towards a strong friendship which I’m pretty okay with.

My sister and I discussed the pacing earlier and I think the one thing that felt off about Season 3 was the pacing of the plot. I get that they more trying to focus more on the character development, but it felt there wasn’t much progression in the plot. It felt like Lotor was just going after them each time and them trying to figure out how to defeat him. I think this definitely has to do with how short each of the seasons are. It feels like the Legend of Korra all over again where the pacing was way too fast and they’re trying to cram everything into a small amount of episodes. I really wish they had more time to explore and balance out the plot and character’s journeys. Hopefully, there will be more of that in the future.

Overall, I thought Season 3 of Voltron was a success, I had pretty minimal complaints and it was a lot of fun. They’ve already released a teaser for Season 4 and we get to see Matt and Pidge fighting together which is everything I wanted and more! Sibling dynamics are my favorite kind in books and t.v. shows and I can’t wait to see the two reunite. We’ve all been waiting for Matt so I’m hoping his character won’t disappoint (I’m getting serious Donnie vibes (from TMNT) when seeing him fight with a staff).

-Saowbia 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

