T.V. Shows

Review: Shadowhunters Season 2 (Ep.1-10)

Image result for shadowhunters season 2

Season 2

Episodes 1-10

City of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1) Review

City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments #2) Review


Spoiler Free Section: 

If you’ve watched my reviews for the Mortal Instruments series, you would know I am not a fan of it. I have a multitude of issues with it which I do go in more depth in my reviews if you like reading rants. So why would I even bother watching the show? I could say one word: MALEC. But also because I see so much more potential in the show to remedy some of the flaws I’ve seen in the books. Also, there are a lot more POC as well so that’s of course a plus. 


The first season of Shadowhunters was obviously terribly cringe worthy and all around cheesy. But I was honestly impressed with how much improvement there’s been in Season 2. There’s been little to no cheesy dialogue, the pacing did suck for the first few episodes, but that improved as well. Also, in my opinion, I genuinely like where the story is going and there’s a lot of conflicts that I hated in the books that’s been improved. Is there room for improvement? Always. But in general, I really liked this half of the season and I’m excited to see what 2B holds. 


Spoiler Section:

PLOT: So I’m going to be honest, I don’t pay nearly as much attention to the plot as I do the characters. Basically, the season begins with Jace being with Valentine and Clary and crew are trying to find him before the Clave does. I wasn’t too interested in this aspect of the plot. I never liked Jace so you can see why (nothing against Dom Sherwood, he’s great). Jocelyn, Clary’s mom ends up dying, which was a total surprise. I guess they didn’t really have a use for her but she really didn’t need to be killed off. I think her death might be a plot point later on. Also, the whole thing with Simon and his mom wasn’t really handled realistically either. His mom seemed to accept of Simon so easily, I mean if it was my mom she would demand answers out of me for disappearing for so long. Not to mention call the police to come and find me.


Izzy ends up addicted to yin-fen which was an interesting character arc. I don’t think Raphael should have been brought into it, since their relationship was extremely unhealthy. Then of course we get to Valentine wanting to activate the Soul Sword which would ultimately destroy the entire Downworld. Clary has angel blood, Jace thinks he has demon blood and can destroy the Soul Sword, but he ends up activating because turns out he has angel blood as well. What a surprise. But what was really disappointing was when he activated the sword, only the Downworlders in the room died. It really undermined the power of the Sword. I mean, they could have activated the sword without any Downworlders in the room and no one would have to die. Right? Why go through all that trouble in the first place?


Also, the big “you’re not siblings” reveal happened, which was a pleasant surprise. Personally, I hated that whole aspect so I was glad they got rid of it pretty quick. In the books, it was super uncomfortable and felt like incest(even if it wasn’t). But I think the way it was revealed was underwhelming. Why would Valentine all of a sudden reveal that Jace and Clary aren’t siblings without an ulterior motive? I think there’s a lot more to it than was revealed. Episode 10 ends with a mysterious shadow walking off with the Soul Sword. Who could that be? I mean we’re all aware it’s Sebastian. Even if Sebastian was super creepy in the series, he was pretty interesting so I’m excited to see his introduction to the show. Overall, the plot started off a bit messy and all over the place, but it did improve and I am genuinely interested to see where it goes in the second half of the season.


CHARACTERS: Starting off with our main protagonist, Clary Fairchild. I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before, but I like T.V. show Clary so much better than book Clary. Book Clary annoyed me to no end, but this Clary is so much more mature. A lot of the girl drama and shallow attitude wasn’t present which I really appreciated. Also, Kat MacNamara is a total cinnamon roll and so sweet. Not to mention, Clary and Izzy’s relationship is one of the best aspects to the show. They took out a lot of the initial girl hate between the two in the books. I think you could take it as both platonic or maybe something more. I don’t care what’s supposed to be endgame, I will always ship Clizzy. 😉


Jace was actually a lot better in this season, in Season 1 he felt pretty bland and boring to me. This season, there was more of an internal struggle with his character. In addition, what I hated about the books, specifically City of Ashes was the way Jace treated Clary when they were “siblings.” The T.V. show took out a lot of the obnoxious attitude and petty drama. I especially loved the scene where he respected Clary and Simon’s moment and didn’t intrude. Also, the scene between Jace and Simon in episode 8 was too great. I ship them. You could say, this show has me shipping the “never to happen” non-canon ships. 


As for Malec, AKA the main reason a lot of people watch the show, I thought it was done really well. When they fought, (more so Alec being a dick) Magnus didn’t take his shit and they talked it out like a healthy couple. There was a lot of development for their relationship and they’re pretty much the power couple in Shadowhunters, let’s be real. Of course there was a lot of controversy surrounding the cut off sex scene. Which I definitely understand, since we had to out up with that extremely uncomfortable scene with Jace having sex with a Seelie which lasted a few excruciating minutes. Of course, there was barely anything of LGBT couple. It’s really unfair that so many Malec scenes are cut off or very short. Considering, they are the more popular ship, they should be getting more screen-time. They could be teasing us so we’ll see. The Malec scene at the end of episode 10 was my favorite and I probably watched it like 10 times.  


So that was an unnecessarily long review and I honestly was not expecting it to be this long. Overall, this first half of the season was mostly a success and I can’t wait to see what the next half of the season holds. 

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

