Book Reviews

Review: The Dream Thieves By Maggie Stiefvater

17347389

Published:  September 17th 2013 by Scholastic Press


Series: The Raven Cycle #2


Source: Overdrive Audiobooks


Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Magical Realism


Synopsis: If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?


Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Read review for The Raven Boys here. 

WARNING: SPOILERS FOR THE RAVEN BOYS. PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

Spoiler Free Review:

After reading this book way too quickly at the very end of 2015 and not consuming anything (I know, I’m terrible), I decided a reread was needed after rereading The Raven Boys via audio and loving it. So what did this book do for me? Well for starters, I understood the plot a lot more and I also found Ronan’s character interesting. If you didn’t enjoy The Raven Boys, I would still recommend checking this book out. If not for the strange plot, then for the lively characters. 


Stiefvater has this wonderful way with writing. It’s so haunting and dark and has this almost moody feel to it. Then there’s her dialogue which is quite possibly one the best parts. The conversations the characters have really brings them to life. 


Even with the atmospheric writing, I think the audiobooks were absolutely wonderful. When I was reading The Dream Thieves for the first time, I found myself getting bored a few times. There wasn’t much plot happening towards the beginning. However, the audiobooks truly made every bit entertaining to listen to. Will Patton has this way of making every character’s voice distinct and every chapter interesting to listen to. I’m definitely going to listen to the audiobooks for the next two books.


As for the plot, things just got a whole lot weirder. There was more of a focus on Ronan in this book and his unique ability of stealing things from dreams. Cabeswater and Glendower was put on the backburner for a little bit, but it all connects in the end. There’s also the whole thing with Adam and his sacrifice which was again weird, but I mean that’s the whole series. I did like how there’s a big mission to find Glendower and how the smaller conflicts somehow end up being connected to Glendower and Cabeswater. 


As always, the characters is what truly makes this story, Like I mentioned, we focus a lot more on Ronan. Essentially, Ronan is the brooding, mysterious character that we don’t know much about. We find out a lot about his past and family so most of the questions are answered. I’ve mentioned I don’t like bad boys much, I find a lot of them to be very cliche. You can’t help but love his cursing even if I hate cursing, I can’t help but laugh at some of the things he says. 


“Don’t fucking swear.”


“I’m being perfectly fucking civil.”


Matthew Lynch, Ronan’s little brother is also introduced and I love him too. He’s such a lovely little cinnamon roll. I loved his and Ronan’s relationship and how Matthew was in a way, like Chainsaw and Ronan’s soft spot. I really want to see more of Matthew, he just seems so lovable and adorable.


As for the rest of the characters, Blue was still the amazing badass feminist that all we all love. There’s wasn’t much of her in this book, she was more of a side character. Gansey was the same President Cellphone. I also saw a lot more of his bromance with Ronan which is great. Adam was pretty much sulking and angry throughout this whole story, I wasn’t huge fan of him in the beginning, but he improved in the end. Noah was this little ghost thingy, slightly creepy and mostly lovable. There was also Kavinsky whom I hated. No surprise there. 


I also ended up noticing a lot more foreshadow,there was a lot of hints to future plot points that I didn’t catch the first time. As for the romance: Highlight for spoiler: I’m sure I’ll end up shipping Ronan and Adam. A lot of people mentioned they didn’t see any foreshadow on their feelings except that one line. But I’ll have to say I noticed a lot of hints. As for Blue and Gansey it’s pretty obvious that the whole forbidden thing between the two is happening. Not sure how I feel about as of now. ;/


Overall, this was another wonderful installment in the series. It still held the same qualities as the first. I love listening to the audiobooks for the series, it’s one of the biggest reasons I adore it.  I’m sure the series will just keep on getting better and better and I can’t wait to see what else it has to offer.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

