Book Reviews

Review: The 5th Wave By Rick Yancey

16101128

Published: May 7th 2013 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Series: The 5th Wave Trilogy #1

Source: Local Library

Synopsis: After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.
Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. 

Add to Goodreads.

SPOILER WARNING:

Dear Mr. Rick Yancey,

I am a huge fan of The Monstrumologist and The Curse of the Wendigo in your Monstrumologist series. Well, I would say it is still unclear if Will Henry wrote and really exists. I did like The Isle of Blood but I felt like it was too long. The Final Descent really disappointed me. But, I’m not here to talk about The Monstrumologist series. I’m here to discuss my thoughts on your famous The 5th Wave which the movie trailer had leaked. I was tempted to watch the movie trailer first but made myself read the book  so I could imagine the characters in my head rather than see the trailer ruin it for me. I loved your writing style in The Monstrumologist series and I wondered if this would be just as good.  

The 5th Wave was very accurate and realistic on how the humans would react if the world was taken over by aliens. However, I did find the the”waves” confusing in the beginning but it cleared up towards the middle. Cassie, in ways was your typical female heroine, determined to find her little brother. I’m glad it was a little brother instead of the cliche, tough, bad-ass older sister who is determined to protect her sweet and innocent little sister. I found Sammy or Sams adorable. Though I do think Bear is not a good name for a teddy bear. Then again, my own teddy bear was called Beary so I guess that’s pretty hypocritical. 

When I first met Evan I was irritated at him. “Cassie for Cassiopeia was doomed, a breathing corpse. Run or stay, there was no hope. He was wasting time.” You think? If he wanted to kill her so badly shoot her already! He’s not human anyway. But, Evan Walker is a much more complicated character. Unfortunately, I could not like him. In some ways, he reminded me of Edward from Twilight, since he was a creeper. He read her diary, stalked her, and watched her while she slept. Creepy, indeed. Fortunately, Cassie was equally freaked out and angry as I was when she learned of this. This brings to the main problem I had with this book which is usually why I enjoy books less. 

I’m sorry to say that I found the romance irritable.What did Evan Walker see in this girl that he shot in the leg? He saw defiance, selflessness, beauty both inside and out, strength and determination. He nursed her back to health, yet at the same time lied to her. It was only a few weeks until he kissed her and said he wa sin love with her. I was confused. They had barely interacted in the beginning and Cassie didn’t know him well. It was so frustrating to read. How exactly did they fall in love? There was no chemistry at all and it was insta-love. 

I did enjoy Ben Parish’s story. His was much more interesting and you really were able to see what was going on in Camp Haven and how the aliens controlled the humans. I found their nicknames amusing especially Dumbo,Teacup, and Zombie. Ringer was my favorite character. She was so kick butt and reminded me of Lilah from the Rot and Ruin Series By Jonathan Maberry. I really wish she became squad leader rather than Ben. She taught  Ben a lot about leadership and was very clever. I really wish the story had switched POVS  with Ben and Ringer. To me that sounds like a much more intriguing story. The friendship with Ben and Ringer was my favorite relationship in the story. She was a mentor to Ben as well as a friend. 

The writing style in this book was also different than The Monstrumologist. This does make sense since the narrators are a bunch of teenagers and it is science fiction. To conclude, I would say this was part enjoyable and half irritating to read. I can see why many enjoyed this book. Sadly, I cannot get myself to like it fully. There were aspects of the book I liked but frankly I do not wish to continue with this series. This is not a horrible and it was very well written but I’m overall disappointed. I hope you understand Mr. Yancey. I do like most of your books but this just wasn’t one my favorites. If you ever read this review, Thank You for taking the time to read my rant. I truly appreciate it. 

Yours truly, 

Saowbia 

Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

