Book Reviews

Review: Unravel Me By Tahereh Mafi

13104080

Published: February 5th 2013 by Harper Collins


Series: Shatter Me Trilogy #2


Source: Local Library


Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic> Superpowers


Synopsis: 

tick

tick

tick

tick

tick

it’s almost time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.
Add to Goodreads. 


Spoiler Free Review:

WARNING: SPOILERS FOR SHATTER ME

So after completing Shatter Me, I jumped straight into Unravel Me, hoping for more world building and character development. I was in for a disappointment. While there were many things I liked about this novel, there were a lot of put downs. Let’s start off on a positive note, with the things I liked about Unravel Me. 

For starters, Tahereh Mafi’s writing style was, once again wonderful. She weaves words together in such a way, it’s really very hard to describe. In addition, there a lot more plot and action. We are introduced to Omega Point, a place for people with gifts like Juliette. It was interesting to be introduced to the people with different superpowers. I enjoyed all of the side characters and their interactions with one another. You also get to see Juliette’s powers and really understand what she can do with them. There’s also a battle in the book which was also really fun to read. 

Warner was such an intriguing and complex character. You learn so much more about him and his backstory. He has so many layers and I’m interested to know more about him. I, of course loved Kenji in this book even more. He is not only the comical relief but also really supports Juliette. Kenji opens Juliette’s eyes to how immature she was acting and I appreciate him for that.

As for the world building, it did remain to be a huge problem for me yet again. I really like when a book has some solid world building and that was not present in the sequel. I really wanted there to be more of an explanation as to where the powers came from and how The Reestablishment came to be. I understand that the story is more character driven than plot driven, but I still would have liked a bit of a backstory on the dystopian society.

Juliette was one of my least favorite characters in the sequel. She was so frustrating and was especially immature in this book. Even after she came to Omega Point, she still didn’t try to accept who she was. I hated that someone else had to tell her what she was doing wrong rather than her figuring it out for herself. Either way, I did enjoy her conversations with Warner and found them to be very interesting. She seemed to be stronger around him, and really show the other side to her she was hiding. 

Another thing that really frustrated me was the romance. Now I did start this trilogy knowing there would be a love triangle. I was interested to see how it played out and it was just as irritating. Frankly, I don’t really like Adam. He really brings out the weak side of her and it seems like he thinks that Juliette is this fragile thing that needs to be protected all the time. I feel like because of Adam, Juliette is holding herself back. The relationship with Adam and Juliette was definitely very messed up. Adam and Juliette’s drama was very unnecessary and quite ridiculous. 

All in all, I did find the ending to be very surprising and expected and I am curious to see what happens in the last book. 


Rating: 3/5


My Favorite Quote:

“As far as I can tell, you’ve got food in your mouth and clothes on your back and a place to pee in peace whenever you feel like it. Those aren’t problems. That’s called living like a king. And I’d really appreciate it if you’d grow the hell up and stop walking around like the world crapped on your only roll of toilet paper. Because it’s stupid. It’s stupid, and it’s ungrateful. You don’t have a clue what everyone else in the world is going through right now. You don’t have a clue, Juliette. And you don’t seem to give a damn either. Now I am trying to give you a chance to fix things. I keep giving you opportunities to do things differently. To see past that sad little girl you used to be- the sad little girl you keep clinging to- and stand up for yourself. Stop crying. Stop sitting in the dark counting out all your individual feelings about how sad and lonely you are. Wake up. You’re not the only one with daddy issues and severely screwed up DNA. You can be whoever the hell you want to be now. You’re not with your shitty parents anymore. You’re not in that shitty asylum, and you’re no longer stuck being Warner’s shitty little experiment. So make a choice, make a choice and stop wasting everyone’s time. Stop wasting your own time.” 

-Kenji

 

Leave a Reply

