Book Reviews

Review: Fuzzy Mud By Louis Sachar

22064780

Published: August 4th 2015 by Doubleday Canada


Source: Local Library


Genre: Middle Grade, Mystery, Sci-Fi, Juvenile


Synopsis: Fifth grader Tamaya Dhilwaddi and seventh grader Marshall Walsh have been walking to and from Woodbridge Academy together since elementary school. But their routine is disrupted when bully Chad Wilson challenges Marshall to a fight. To avoid the conflict, Marshall takes a shortcut home through the off-limits woods. Tamaya reluctantly follows. They soon get lost, and they find trouble. Bigger trouble than anyone could ever have imagined.

In the days and weeks that follow, the authorities and the government become involved, and what they uncover might affect the future of the world. 

 

Spoiler Free Review:

Louis Sachar is one my favorite childhood authors. I always loved his quirky yet weird writing style. One of my favorites would have to be Holes and the Marvin Redpost series. I always found it strange that some of the titles of his books had nothing to do with the story. For example, Marvin Redpost, A Flying Birthday Cake? In a way, I was both confused but amused on why he would do such a thing. It was later when I realized that his titles was just part of his strange writing. 

Fuzzy Mud was a bit of a surprise for me. Usually, Sachar’s books on on troubled children who happen to be at the “wrong place at the wrong time.” This was a dual perspective on two very different characters. There was Tamaya the very good and smart girl who obeyed the rules. Then there was Marshall who wasn’t necessarily a “bad” child, but he was very troubled and was being bullied by a cruel bully named Chad. This also leaned towards a bit on the science fiction. There was also the U.S. Senate who had discovered that could affect the future of the world.

To be honest, I expected this to be two children getting lost in the woods and surviving on their own while the bully redeems himself. I was in for a surprise when there was a lot more to it.  There was more to the story than a cruel bully and its victims. It definitely had a more environmental lesson. The “discovery” played a larger role than expected.  I will say the story was very confusing at times. I had to go back to understand what was going on. As for the characters, I really liked Tamaya she was very intelligent and brave. Marshall was a jerk and coward, but in the end he was a great friend. Surprisingly, I liked Chad more than I thought. It’s true that I really hate bullies, but, in reality a bully is just terrified as the victim. 

I’ve been missing Louis Sachar’s writing and I was so happy when he came out with a new book.  Although, this is not one of my favorites of his books it was a very fascinating middle grade. 

Rating: 4.75/5

Leave a Reply

